Post Image

The American Architectural Manufacturers Association (AAMA) recognized the contributions and achievements of its members and congratulated award winners at the 81st Annual Conference Awards Banquet held Tuesday night in Orlando, FL. Award presenters noted the importance of these member contributions as they serve to further the industry as a whole.

Outstanding Member Award – Doug Holmberg (Apogee/Wausau Window and Wall Systems)

Doug Holmberg, Quality Manger for Wausau, was named Outstanding Member, as presented by former recipient Steve Strawn, Codes & Regulatory Manager for JELD-WEN.

The Outstanding Member Award is given to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of AAMA and the industry as a whole.

Holmberg, current Vice President of the Architectural Window Council, maintains 36 active committee and task group memberships.

“Doug has played no small role in ensuring progress toward AAMA’s basic strategic objectives, notably education outreach and the FenestrationMasters® program, code compliance and meaningful, yet practical, certification,” said Strawn.

Architectural Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Donnie Hunter (Kawneer)

The Distinguished Service Award for the Architectural Products Group was presented to Donnie Hunter, Director of Global Product Management for Kawneer, by Brent Slaton, National Sales Coordinator for Keymark.

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Architectural Products Group.

Hunter, who is now in his fifteenth year of AAMA involvement, is currently serving as Vice Chairman of the AAMA Board of Directors.

“Donnie covers a wide scope within the industry, serving the American Institute of Architects, the Aluminum Association, the Glass Association of North America and the Construction Specifications Institute, in addition to AAMA,” said last year’s winner, Slaton.

Residential Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Jeff Franson (Quanex Building Products)

The Distinguished Service Award for the Residential Products Group was presented to Jeff Franson, Senior Director, Product Development & Advanced Technology for Quanex Building Products, by former recipient Rob Luter, Director of Engineering for Lippert Components.

Each year, a member who excels in work toward improving the association and the Residential Products Group is recognized with this distinction.

“Those who nominated Jeff praised his level of preparedness and his reputation for always being technically sound,” said Luter. “He is a willing volunteer who has, time after time, proven to be more than capable.”

Franson began attending AAMA conferences in the fall of 2002. Since then, he has served in 25 groups, mostly with interest in vinyl.

Marketing Distinguished Service Award – Mark Fortun (Endura Products)

The Marketing Distinguished Service Award was presented to Mark Fortun, Manager of Code Compliance at Endura Products, by previous recipient Jerry Schwabauer, Vice President of Sales and Marketing at Azon.

This acknowledges a single individual who has exhibited leadership and outstanding service in marketing activities for the association.

“Mark consistently brings a fresh, thoughtful perspective from a market and customer standpoint,” said Schwabauer. “He is both a detailed technical expert and a big-picture thinker.”

Fortun currently serves on 36 committees, councils and task groups.

More information about AAMA and its activities can be found via the AAMA website.

AAMA is the source of performance standards, product certification
and educational programs for the fenestration industry.SM